Geographic Information Systems
These select sources are intended to give the reader a general overview of aspects of Geographic Information Systems. Please check the Library catalogue or browse the shelves for more print resources specific to your topic.
You may also want to see some of the other Selkirk College Library Environment and Geomatics subject guides for more information.
Geographic Information Systems Handbooks
- Concepts and Techniques in Geographic Information Systems G 70.212 L627 2002
- Geographic Information Systems and Science G 70.212 G4655 2005
- GIS Dictionary ONLINE
- GIS for Dummies G 70.212 D465 2009
- Open Source GIS: A GRASS GIS Approach G 70.212 N47 2008
Programming, Databases and Remote Sensing
- Fundamentals of Python: First Programs QA 76.73 P98 L36 2011
- Introduction to GPS: The Global Positioning System G 109.5 E6 2006
- A Python Primer for ArcGIS G 70.212 J46 2011
- Remote Sensing and Image Interpretation G 70.4 L54 2008
- Remote Sensing of the Environment QE 33.2 R4 J46 2000
- Spatial Databases: A Tour G 70.212 S54 2003
- Quantum GIS ONLINE
The University of British Columbia's Geomatics Program website contains extensive lists of links to world-wide GIS data sources and datasets.
University of British Columbia Data Clearinghouses and Portals Links
Search article databases to find journal & magazine articles. Recommended databases for Geographic Information Systems include:
A complete list of databases can be accessed from our homepage: FIND > Research Databases
These are just a few of the many GIS-related journals that you can access online or through Selkirk College Library. Click on the links to find out where you can access these journals.
- Annals of GIS
- Applied GIS
- ARC News / Environmental Systems Research Institute
- ARC User
- Directions Magazine
- Environmental Science and Engineering
- Geospatial Solutions
- GIS World
- International Journal of Geographical Information Science
- Transactions in GIS
There are many resources available online to aid you in your learning and research. You can also find links below to GIS news sources, product information, data sources and professional organizations.
- ECO Canada: Environmental Careers Organization
- Geospatial Media + Communications
- GIS Geography
- GIS Lounge
- Point of Beginning
- Selkirk Geospatial Research Centre
- GIS Bibliography (Esri)
Research and Writing Guides
Research and writing guides are available in the library for you to use during every stage of the research and writing process. Take a look if you want to improve your research, reading, and writing skills.
- CSE Style Guide (Selkirk College) ONLINE
- CSE Style: Research and Documentation Online ONLINE
- Scientific Style and Format: The CSE Manual for Authors, Editors and Publishers REF T 11 S386 2006
- Making Sense in Geography and Environmental Sciences: A Student's Guide to Research and Writing G 74 N67 2001
- Pocket Guide to Technical Writing T 11 P437 2004
- Technical Communication: A Practical Approach T 11 P44 2007
- Writing in the Sciences (Colorado State University) ONLINE